Mrs. Snyder

Happy Mrs. Monday! Each week you will get to meet a new bride who planned her own wedding and lived to tell about it. No matter where you are at in your planning, take time to sit down with someone who has been in your spot and relax. Enjoy their insights and memories. Be encouraged and look forward to your own special day.

Cheers!

Kyla

Meet Allison, she and her sweet husband John were married on July 9, 2011. Minus being a terrible flower girl when I myself was 3 for my uncle’s wedding, her wedding was the first wedding I ever was a part of and I loved every minute. She was a beautiful bride and it was a wonderful day!

 284816_10100195171686378_191123_n

262421_10100195170513728_6091188_n

How did you & your husband meet?  

John and I have differing stories as to where we met. He claims to have met me at a house party; he remembers exactly what I was wearing and says that when he looked into my eyes the song “Brown Eyed Girl” started playing in his head.  I, however, don’t remember that being our first encounter. I remember {briefly} meeting him the week of homecoming (middle of October) my freshman year. I was roped into participating in a dance competition that my sorority and his fraternity were paired together for. He wasn’t part of the group of guys participating but he did hang out in the basement while we were practicing. I thought he was so cute but he was a year older than me and that was very intimidating for my 18 year old self! After homecoming was over I had made several friends at John’s fraternity, John included, and began hanging out at their house whenever I had a break in classes.

On Valentine’s Day 2005 my best friend and I went to the house to comfort a friend who had just been dumped. At the end of the evening, John walked me home. He was such a gentleman; he offered me his coat and asked me questions that other guys hadn’t asked before. On March 29, 2005 John took me out on our first date to get frozen yogurt. I remember thinking at the end of it that it was the best first date I had ever been on and hoped it was my last first date (I hated dating).

We, officially, started dating on April 9, 2005. The next six years were spent dating off and on – though mostly on than off. We were growing up and learning about ourselves while also earning about each other; it has made our marriage so much stronger than it would have been had we not fought for each other and had those learning experiences.223856_10100195323267608_895701_n

Length of engagement?

 6.5 months

Favorite part of planning?

Knowing I was going to marry my best friend! But, that probably isn’t the answer you’re looking for. I loved working together with my mom during the entire process. I’m a very simple woman who doesn’t “need” much to be happy. Side note: Pinterest wasn’t around so I didn’t have the pressure to have a “Pinterest perfect wedding”. That also means I didn’t get all the cool ideas! But, my mom is so good at reading me and knowing what I wanted despite it being a bit more work to accomplish.

Hardest part of planning? 

The center pieces!!! Oh for the love of God…I will forever remember my mom and I stressing over what we were going to do for the center pieces.

Ceremony venue?

 Immanuel Lutheran Church

Ceremony music?

 I grew up going to church and loving the traditional hymns so our ceremony music was filled with just that. I think I walked down the aisle to “Canon in D” – as most brides do 🙂  281296_10100195306231748_6515552_n

Scripture readings?

 I cannot remember….I’m sure the 1 Corinthians verses about love were in there.

Reception venue?

We chose to have an outdoor reception at a winery in Seymour, Indiana. It was perfect. It was also HOT.252117_10100195323147848_7621487_n

Theme? 

I don’t think there was a theme. My overall plan for the wedding and reception was simple with a pop.

Color palate? 

Light purple & light green

Flower details?

I had a bouquet of calla lilies & my bridesmaids had hydrangeas.198776_10100195170174408_1878478_n

Wedding party size?

6 bridesmaids & 6 groomsmen283346_10100195316715738_6999624_n

Overall size of your wedding? 

Large? It felt large.

First dance song?

 “Then” by Brad Paisley

223630_10100195317988188_2210778_n

Father/Daughter dance?

 “My Girl” by The Temptations – then we surprised everyone by doing a choreographed number 

Mother/son dance? 

Neither John nor I can remember…

What is one personal touch you added to your day?

On the reception tables we made copies of letters that John and I sent to each other while he was at Officer Candidate School.

Favorite part of your wedding day?

Can I say everything? Because everything was so perfect. I loved spending time with my friends before the ceremony. I cherish the memory of dad asking the organist, who was practicing pre-ceremony music, to stop playing because my mom and I were crying while having our picture taken. I love that one of my brothers, of all people, made me cry right before I walked down the aisle by mouthing “I love you”.

I smile at the memory of being surprised that John decided to wear his dress blues for the ceremony. He wouldn’t tell me what he was going to wear; his rationale was that he didn’t get to see my dress so I didn’t get to know what he would be wearing.

I remember laughing a lot during my dad’s sermon (did I mention my dad is a pastor and married us?). Most of all, though, I remember the overwhelming feeling of love that I felt for, and from, John as we exited the church as husband and wife.283802_10100195306790628_7987414_n

What advice would you share with a bride-to-be? 

Remember to smile, all day! Not only will you have a photographer following you around to capture candid moments, but there will be so many people will be taking your picture when you aren’t expecting it. If you have a tendency to slouch, like I do, make a conscious effort to keep your shoulders back all day.

Trust me, looking at your wedding pictures is not the time you want realize you slouch! I’m emotional (I cry at Hallmark commercials) and I didn’t want to be a blubbering mess while walking down the aisle. Someone told me to repeat the months of the year or count to ten if you feel yourself starting to cry.198719_10100195323806528_6547454_n

Anything else you would like to share?

At the end of the day, you’re marrying the love of your life. It will not matter that you forgot to remember to buy cutlery to cut the cake (that happened…) and it will not matter that you forgot to change out of your granny panties and into your cute “bride” underwear before the reception (that also happened…nothing says “I feel sexy” like old undies!). All of your planning will come together just perfectly. If anything happens that isn’t supposed to…brush it off. YOU’RE GETTING MARRIED!205967_10100195323517108_6048559_n

Allison’s photographer: [refined] reflections photography

Allison’s reception venue: Chateau de Pique Winery

Bridesmaid dresses, Allure Bridal Style 1200 (discontinued)

6 thoughts on “Mrs. Snyder

Leave a Reply

