Mrs. Ward

Happy Easter {Monday}! Personally, I think I still full from Easter dinner yesterday and I am still kind of in ‘weekend’ mode but the week starts with or without me being ready 😉 Our Mrs. this week is someone I have known since she was in high school – we even got to go to college together for a short period of time her freshman year and my senior year. Now here she is all beautiful and grown up and MARRIED! Enjoy catching up on all the details today!

Cheers,Kyla

Meet Katrina! She and her husband, Jacob, got married on October 3, 2015 in the mountains of Colorado surrounded by family and friends. I dare you not to be in love with them and their wedding after reading Katrina’s story 🙂IMG_3173

How did you and your husband meet?  

We met in the summer of 2012. I decided to work at a summer camp in Colorado called Lutheran Valley Retreat (LVR). I had no intention of meeting my future husband then. I was going to school at Concordia University Chicago at the time and knew if I met someone at camp, they would most likely be far away.

Well, God had other plans. I knew right away that Jacob was a man of God and I wanted to get to know him more. We began meeting at the beginning of every week to pray for one another’s weeks and we began writing encouraging notes every day (almost).

I’ve never met a more caring man that loves me for who I am. We dated long distance for 1.5 years and went to school together in Nebraska for 3 semesters. We were apart for 5 months before our wedding because of our jobs.IMG_3995

Length of engagement?

11 months

Favorite part of planning?

Honestly, all of it was pretty fun. There were a couple stressful times but for the most part I took it slow, tried not to stress, and just let it happen.

Figuring out decorations for the church and reception was a lot of fun. We had a friend that does woodworking and he made the centerpieces for the reception.IMG_3301

Being able to dream with Jacob and knowing we could do whatever we wanted made it easy. I didn’t feel pressure from our family to do anything a certain way, they were okay with anything we wanted to do.

Hardest part of planning?

The most “stressful” thing for me was picking out my dress. I was so worried about price and whether I would like it months later. I tend to ask too many people’s opinions and that confused me a lot.12799098_10209106687888197_5874899769210570131_n

So, my wedding dress advice is to do what YOU want. Get the dress that makes you happiest. I was very happy with my decision. I had to make it on my own and not let other people’s opinions influence what I wanted.

Ceremony venue?

Bethlehem Lutheran Church in Lakewood, CO. It is my husband’s church. So extremely beautiful on the inside.IMG_3464

Ceremony music?

We used mostly Christian songs and played them through the sound system at the church. It was funny because a lot of people thought it was a live singer.

  • Processional: “First Day of my Life” by Bright Eyes
  • Bride walking in: Divine Romance” by Phil Wickham
  • Sand Ceremony: “Fall Afresh” by Jeremy Riddle
  • Recessional: “Love Love Love” by Avalanche CityIMG_3312

Scripture readings? 

1 Corinthians 13 was the main reading. I know this is the typical wedding scripture but it has significant meaning to us. We always encouraged one another when we worked at camp by writing “love never fails” (1 Corinthians 13:8), to remind one another to always remember that loving like Christ is important.IMG_3468

Reception venue?

Wheat Ridge Rec Center – it was perfect.IMG_4342

Color palate?

Navy Blue and Mint GreenIMG_3743.jpg

Flower details?

I got the flowers from Hobby Lobby when they were 50% off and my Grandma then made the bouquets, which she has done for a lot of weddings. Part of my flowers were left overs she had from my Mom’s wedding. It was very special and she did a wonderful job.IMG_3092

Wedding party size?

8 bridesmaids, 8 groomsmen, 1 ring bearer, 1 flower girl. (I know a lot) 🙂IMG_3868

Overall size of wedding?

Medium –  around 150-170

First dance song?

“Like the Dawn” by The Oh Hello’sIMG_4566

Father/Daughter dance?

“Butterfly Kisses” by Bob CarlisleIMG_457512790850_10209106736889422_5412982863688445794_n

Mother/son dance?

“My Wish” by Rascal FlattsIMG_4665

What did you DIY?

We had help from quite a few people. The centerpieces were done by our friend that woodworks in Nebraska. He did a great job. My grandma made the flowers. My mom did the wedding programs.IMG_4334

What was a fun personal touch you added to your day?

I loved that we had so many people come from out of town. It seriously made it the most amazing day; having all of our favorite people there. We felt so extremely blessed by the people who love and support us. The other personal touch came from the women who I chose to stand beside me. Right before the ceremony started, they laid hands on me and prayed. I love prayer and I love that they did that.

We had pie for dessert at the reception instead of cake. Although they wanted to keep the tradition and have us ‘cut the cake’ so we did a small cake for that…my mouth turned blue from the frosting, which is why pie is better, ha.IMG_4455

Any fun stories from planning?

My wedding dress! I had gone to a few different places, I finally found a place in Nebraska that I really liked – Black Tie & White Satin in Fremont, NE. Like I said before, I was so overwhelmed with what to choose.

I had two on hold that I was deciding between and the place was over an hour from my school. I drove home that night and couldn’t stop thinking about my dress (which wasn’t even on hold).

I went back the next morning on my own and picked that one out. They laughed at me because it wasn’t even in the final two I had put on hold the day before – but I knew it was the one. I was so excited once I picked it out and it was hard not being able to tell Jacob about it.10400838_10209106687968199_6953264541820813913_n

Favorite part of your wedding day?

Marrying Jacob, of course; But also being with all of our friends and family. We both love the people in our lives so so much and it was absolutely amazing having them all in one place.

We had so many friends from the two schools we went to who made it out to Colorado. The dance party at the reception went on forever and was so much fun. We couldn’t ask for better friends.

We know that all of the people who were there will support and love us and pray for us always. This day was about us and we wanted to include everyone in that but this life isn’t just about us, it’s about all of us being together, supporting, and loving one another. 12719280_10209106727289182_4839428424517642426_o

Any resources you loved to use?

I used Pinterest a lot; And Google, HA!

Any ways you were able to save money?

YES SO MUCH.  One example, I didn’t want plastic table cloths and the reception hall didn’t provide any. Table cloths can get pretty spendy so I simply googled ‘table cloths’ and they were on sale for $8 a piece. I probably saved at least $200.

We got all of the flowers from Hobby Lobby when they were 50% off, I know that saved at least $200 too. Hobby Lobby has sales all the time so we just kept watching and would get things like burlap and candles when they were on sale. We did our invitations on Vistaprint.com and they helped us save a lot of money.

What advice would you share with a bride-to-be?  

Have so much fun. The big things are little things. No reason to get worked up, God works it out in the end. I asked for a lot of help the weekend of (which is hard for me) and it made things SO MUCH easier.

And do what YOU and your husband-to-be want. I didn’t feel a lot of pressure from our families but I know of other people who did. It is YOUR day, not anyone else’s. You are the one that has to be happy with it.IMG_4084

Anything else you would like to share?

I want to go back and relive the day simply to be with all of my friends and family. One thing I was worried about was opening gifts in front of family the day after. I was nervous about seeing them after being with my husband for the first time the night before – but now I am so glad we did gifts with family and friends. It was a perfect morning. We couldn’t tear ourselves away from the people to go to our honeymoon.

Fun bonus! Check out the Ward’s wedding video!


 

Katrina’s photographer: Aaron Bean – Aaron Bean Cinema

Katrina’s videographer: Blue Shoe Media (they did SUCH A GREAT JOB)

Bridesmaids Dresses: Amazon.com and they were awesome.

Suits: Men’s Wearhouse – This was great because our groomsmen were from all over. They could get sized in any state and have it sent to Colorado for the wedding.

Leave a Reply

