Mrs. Rodriguez

Mrs. Monday is back! Whew. It’s been a little while. Thank you to all of my brides patiently waiting for their stories to be shared. On a personal note, the last handful of weeks have held all kinds of new excitement as my husband and I found out that I am pregnant, due this December. We’re having a baby! 😛 Baby excitement aside, now that my brain has settled into it’s new normal. Read: I feel like I cannot remember anything anymore. It’s back to wedding blogging, yay! Enjoy reading about this week’s sweet and simple wedding.

Kyla

Meet Elisebeth! Elisebeth and her husband Trevor got married on the best day to get married on August 2, 2015 – which in my opinion is a great day to get married, my husband and I also have an August 2nd anniversary date 🙂 Enjoy reading her insights into how she planned her dream day.

T&E Wedding

How did you and your husband meet?

Trevor and I initially met working at Pizza Ranch in April 2012. That fall he left to go to school in St. Paul, Minnesota and we did not keep in touch.

July 4, 2013 I went to Fire on the Fox in downtown Green Bay and was enjoying all of the live music. My friend and I had noticed on Facebook that his band was playing at one of the stages and we went to see them. I had heard that they were quite good so I was eager to find out for myself. We eventually found them and enjoyed listening. Later that night, Trevor messaged me on Facebook and the rest is history.T&E Wedding-2

Length of engagement?

Just under one year

Favorite part of planning?

My favorite part of planning was all of the big picture, hypothetical items. It was so easy to imagine that perfect day and to know what I wanted.

Hardest part of planning?

I am a huge control freak, so the hardest part of planning for me was being okay with other people taking tasks to lessen stress on myself. I wanted to do it all, including set up the day of.

Ceremony venue?

Green Isle Park in AllouezT&E Wedding-4

Ceremony music?

I walked down the aisle to a shortened version of “A Thousand Years” by Christina Perri. Trevor’s friend graced our day with his wonderful piano skills.

Scripture readings?

Reception venue?

Green Isle Park in AllouezT&E Wedding-8

Theme?

DIY/Rustic

Color palette?

Neutrals. I wanted to stay away from having to match certain shades of certain colors, so neutral tones made that portion of planning significantly easier. I did end up, unintentionally, having pops of blush throughout.

Flower details?

We used artificial flowers for our wedding. On the tables, we primarily used hydrangeas and various types of filler (baby’s breath was my favorite). Our bouquets had roses and peonies and various fillers.T&E Wedding-6 (1)

Wedding party size?

2 couplesT&E Wedding-3

Overall size of wedding?

Small – we invited about 140 people, but probably only 80 came.

First dance song?

 “Faithfully” by JourneyT&E Wedding-7

Father/Daughter dance? Mother/Son dance?

We combined the father/daughter and mother/son dance together and we danced to “I’ll Stand By You” by The Pretenders.

 

What did you DIY?

For our wedding, we DIY’d quite a bit.

  • My best friend and bridesmaid, Ana, did our flower arrangements with the artificial flowers.
  • I hand wrote any of the signs that were out.
  • My grandmother made jams and jellies for our wedding favors, as well as our wedding cake.
  • I created all of the labels for the jams and jellies.
  • My family and Trevor’s family made and frosted all of our cupcakes.
  • My roommates helped me make various wall and table decorations.T&E Wedding-9

Share one fun personal touch you added to your day?

One fun personal touch I added was incorporating my (sometimes pitiful) attempts at calligraphy in as many areas as possible. It most obviously came through on signs, but also was for seating and the card box.

Any fun stories from planning?

My most “fun” story from planning was making the discovery that Home Depot sells super tall chalkboard slabs. They’re probably 4 feet by 1 ½ feet. I made this discovery after I was about to purchase a much smaller chalkboard to make a program on for the big day. While many may not find this fun, I certainly did as it was significantly cheaper than the smaller chalkboard.

Favorite part of your wedding day?

My favorite part of our wedding day was our first dance. It’s this moment that is kind of frozen in my memory and I feel like I relive it anytime we dance now.

Any resources you loved to use?

We used a lot of inspiration from Pinterest, but I also loved reading DIY blog posts from my favorite blogger, Kylie of Rose & Co Blog.

Any ways you were able to save money?

We saved a lot of money by using resources that friends and family were able to provide for us. We had family friends who catered our meal out of their home for us. They did this basically free of charge – we paid for the food and materials and they assembled it for us and kept everything stocked.

We also saved a lot of money by doing our wedding at Green Isle Park. It was a very low cost venue! We also saved money by not having a DJ. We created a playlist on iTunes Music and played it through. While there was no one interacting with everyone, we didn’t really miss it since we wanted a simple day to begin with.

I also saved a lot of money by buying my dress second hand. In Minneapolis, there is a bridal consignment shop called Bride to Be and they have hundreds of gowns. I only paid about $300 for my dream dress that I didn’t think I would be able to have with our budget!

What advice would you share with a bride-to-be?

My advice would be to make sure you’re involving your soon to be hubby in the process. Even if he says he “doesn’t care” you have at least tried to get his opinion. Trevor didn’t have much input, however, he did in one area I never would have guessed. he had to make sure we had a Funfetti flavored wedding cake!T&E Wedding-5

Anything else you would like to share?

Our wedding was extremely low budget, and I could not have been happier. We were able to save up a lot of money to live comfortably in our new apartment.


Photographer information: Caitlin Peterson of Caitlin Peterson Photography

Elisebeth wrote about what she did and how the day went on her blog

One thought on “Mrs. Rodriguez

Leave a Reply

