Mrs. Mueller

Late night Mrs. Monday! Our bride this week shares about all of the hard work and love she poured into planning her wedding. My heart behind sharing the stories of real brides is to encourage brides-to-be with what really happens when planning a wedding – for better or worse! Kelly’s planning story includes it all, including making the news…enjoy.

Kyla

Meet Kelly!! Kelly and her husband John were married on July 25, 2014 and threw a party!

just me

How did you and your husband meet?

We met in college freshman year.favorite 2

Length of engagement?

09/15/2012-07/25/2014 –  Almost 2 years!

Favorite part of planning?

Getting to pick out my wedding dress!

favorite

Hardest part of planning?

All of the DIY stuff took a ton of time.  I was trying so hard to save money, and then we ended up losing our large deposit when our venue closed suddenly before the wedding.  

Trying to find another venue less than 3 months before we were supposed to get married was a bride’s nightmare.  The local news even interviewed us and we were on the front of the Sunday morning paper10150690_10202396865981780_797852035_n

Ceremony venue?

St. Peter Lutheran Church in Arlington Heights, IL

ceremony

 

Reception venue?

Cotillion Banquets in Palatine, IL – Originally was supposed to be Bristol Court in Mt. Prospect until they closed unexpedly 3 months before our wedding. Click here to read the news story.

reception

desserts

Color palate?

Navy & Silver

john

cake

Flower details?

My bridesmaids had white flowers with a few peach flowers thrown in for accents.  My boquet was full of white and off white roses and other flowers.

flowers

Wedding party size?

8 bridesmaids and 8 groomsmen

wedding party

Overall size of wedding?

Medium

First dance song? Father/Daughter dance? Mother/son dance?

“All of Me” by John Legend

We each danced to a part of the song…..we didn’t want everyone to have to stand around and watch us all dance for 15 minutes.

first dance

What did you DIY?

Pretty much everything! I bought invitation kits and printed all my own invitations.  I printed all my own programs.  Did all my own centerpieces, favors, and decorations.  Made menus for the tables…etc.

DIY 1

What is one fun personal touch you added to your day?

Both of my grandmothers had died prior to us getting married.  My mom took a part of one of my maternal grandmother’s handkerchief and cute it out, a part of my paternal grandmother’s gloves she wore on her wedding day, and part of my mom’s wedding dress and stiched them all together.  She made them into a heart and sewed it into my wedding dress.

inside the dress

Favorite part of your wedding day?

Finally getting to put on my wedding dress!  Also just seeing all of our friends and family who were there to celebrate our special day with us!

just me 1

favorite 3

Any resources you loved to use?

Pinterest was great to try and figure out what I wanted.  I also attended a lot of weddings and was able to take the best parts out of each wedding and incorporate them into mine.

Any ways you were able to save money?  

I tried to do everything myself to save money.  It helped us stay on budget!

What advice would you share with a bride-to-be?  

Pay for everything with a credit card.  Even if they give you a discount for paying with cash or check.  My wedding venue suddenly closed 3 months before our wedding date.  They stole everyone’s money, but because we had paid with check we were not able to get our money back.  If we would have paid with a credit card then the credit card company would have given us our money back since it was fraud by our venue!

Anything else you would like to share?

Enjoy the day as much as possible.  It goes by insanely fast!

10420366_10202651596067815_3718342987510323596_n

Photo credit: Ideal Entertainment

*Not recommended/endorsed by the Muellers

Leave a Reply

